It’s not an exclusive adjective, ya know. I’m disabled AND…

Fit. Outgoing. Adventurous. Talented. Pretty. Funny. Called by God.

Also… Selfish. Prideful. Emotional. etc. (I’m not totally arrogant; I’ve learned to love myself. There’s a difference.)

~

Recently, a well-meaning friend had the audacity to say to me in conversation, “I’m sure YOU don’t know what it’s like to feel insecure.”

Should I be flattered? Apparently, I’ve come so close to full circle in my “disability journey” that my confidence appears iron-clad.

I had to set the record straight!

[FYI: I have Friedreich’s Ataxia.]

The progression from walking worse and worse to finally using a walker, then a wheelchair, was extremely difficult. For a while, I tried to hide or downplay my stagger. That’s not so hard as a college freshman/sophomore. Just chock it up to a few too many drinks!

When I reached the point of needing a walker, my self-esteem was on the floor. To the average person, becoming handicapped is one of the worst scenarios imaginable…

There’s so many things I wouldn’t be able to do. My confidence would be shattered. My life would be over.

~

It took me a couple months over one summer to get used to the walker. Here’s the unexpected and life-changing part: everything got so much better, so much easier. No more helplessly clinging to a friend’s arm for extra stability, or, upon entering a room, automatically scoping out where the nearest wall/desk/etc. is, in case I need to steady myself.

Wow! This is what true freedom of mobility feels like.

On the first day of my junior year in college, I walked/rolled into my courses with a newfound confidence. I recall wearing a pretty dress that day, along with winged eyeliner. My highlighted-blonde hair cascaded down my back to my waist. I was just a cool, normal girl who happened to have a disability.

The rest is history. There have been a few changes in the decade since then; I’ve unfortunately lost a few abilities, I use a manual or electric wheelchair 24/7, etc.

I’ve settled into an almost-impenetrable state of acceptance, self-assurance, optimism, and gratitude. I’m only human, so of course I have pity parties, especially after a big fall or some other setback. But the bad mood always passes. Nothing can keep a fighting spirit down forever!

Self-doubt, self-loathing, fear, and shame are chains I broke in a big way in my early 20’s. I have overcome so much, AND I still overcome the challenges of life with a disability every day.

Referring to the fears I mentioned earlier about becoming disabled –

There’s so much I can’t do – AND there’s so much I CAN do. I’m disabled – AND confident! My life is a light for others, and I plan to keep shining bright for a long time. ♥

One response to ““Disabled” Isn’t the Only Word That Describes Me”

Leave a comment

LATEST