Maybe it’s part of transitioning into a real adult (I’m 30), but in the last year and especially in 2024, I’ve gotten more mindful of my future and my finances.

I’ve listened to podcasts and read articles educating myself on the stock market, though I’m still an amateur, to say the least. I started budgeting a few months ago, but due to low income and a nasty online shopping problem, I often went in the red.

I’m proud to say that in 2024, I haven’t bought myself anything online. I challenged myself further by committing to a “no-buy” period as my Lenten sacrifice – nothing but food until March 31st – meaning no more aimless Dollar Tree runs.* I hope I can extend my “no-buy” mindset into the future even after Easter.

* Okay, I had a nail appointment and hair appointment already set, but aside from that…ha!

I’m looking for “side hustles” and passive income sources to bolster my bank accounts. I began using Survey Junkie and make $40-50 per month. I applied for a “cash back” credit card, and I have invested in a money market account and a mutual fund with high interest rates. I am very intrigued and still a bit wary about stocks.

Making responsible decisions is crucial to staying in a good financial state. My first objective is the most obvious – learning to live within my means. I am close to the day when my budget will break even; of course, I strive to eventually spend LESS than I make. Times are tough. Sacrifices are necessary: a frozen meal from the store instead of eating out, buying the store brand of almost everything, a stroll in the park because fresh air is free.

I’m far from where I want to end up, but radical transformation doesn’t happen overnight; progress accumulates. Funny enough, I recently wrote a blog post about my ankle healing from an injury that concluded with the same sentiment. It’ll take time and physical therapy for my body to return to normalcy. It’ll take time and diligence for my financial state to slowly improve.

Hard work and faith are my sword and shield this year. I have to put in the effort to make my life better and prepare for the future. But I cling to my faith in God because I believe He loves me and will direct my steps if I only turn to Him for guidance –

Good thing my other Lenten commitment is to pray every day!

One response to “Thinking About my Finances & the Future”

  1. Excellent. You will be rewarded for your diligence.

    Like

Leave a comment

LATEST