At least, they shouldn’t be. But here we are…

Why is the use of medical devices stigmatized?

I recently found out someone I know has been struggling with their mobility. Rather than sink to the level of using a walker or wheelchair*, they choose to stay home most days.

It’s sad to me when people STOP living their lives to the fullest rather than use a medical device.

*But this wording alludes to the real problem, right? The need for a medical device seems intrinsically tied to shame. We feel embarrassed to be vulnerable, to have a visible handicap.

I have a lot of empathy for anyone resistant to and terrified of using an MD publicly. At the age of 19-20, my disability Friedreich’s Ataxia progressed to the point where I fell frequently. After countless falls at home and a few particularly humiliating ones in public, I finally gave in and purchased a rollator walker.

Thinking back, there are two big reasons I tried to walk unassisted as long as possible. #1, I didn’t want to concede to my disability progression. #2, I didn’t want to be weird and different from everyone else.

I understand now that using a tool created to help me doesn’t mean I’m weak or I gave up. Rejecting or embracing an MD doesn’t CHANGE the circumstances; it is only a reaction to the circumstances.

(We don’t shame a diabetic for using insulin. We encourage those with high blood pressure to take blood pressure meds. Yet acknowledging and treating physical disabilities OR mental health issues is less societally acceptable. Hmm…go figure?)

Using a walker didn’t make my FA better or worse; it simply empowered me to exist with less anxiety. Funny enough, I found that walking with assistance was far less embarrassing and traumatizing than falling in public – not to mention, way safer. Falls can be extremely dangerous if you land on the wrong body parts.

Nowadays, I don’t feel self-conscience using an MD in public because I’ve used one for several years. Early on, though, I learned that confidence is key. Just “own” it, or fake it until you make it.

Being the cool, pretty, sweet girl in a wheelchair isn’t a half bad title.

~

The serenity prayer provides priceless wisdom that proves relevant in so many situations.

Living and THRIVING with Friedreich’s Ataxia requires a constant balancing act of determining what can be changed vs. what must be accepted. With a progressive disability, the goal posts constantly move. I’ve adapted my workout routines many times over the years depending on what I can or can’t do at the time.

When it comes to YOUR health, what must you accept, and what can you change through faith and determination? I challenge you to reflect on this question. God bless you today!

7 responses to “Wheelchairs Aren’t Embarrassing!”

  1. Sweet Lily, what a beautiful post of truth and wisdom! Look at you! Thriving with FA…and with the confidence of the Lord! I have physical challenges that have “kept” me at home. I LOOK perfectly healthy. Once, a very confident woman, it took me years to regain it when I felt others looking at me like, “She LOOKS normal?” But why does she have a handicapped tag? Or using a cane? There’s no shame! We are ALL God’s children and it doesn’t matter what we need to help us live the abundant life he desires! My niece has C.P., walks with a limp, cannot use her left arm, and wears finger splints. At 29, some of her symptoms are worsening due to muscle weakness and/or lack of use. Therapies each week, socialization (in addition to CP she has learning challenges). I spent many years in special education as a teacher—then, administrator. We are all unique and require needs that make us—unique! It’s not about our disabilities—but our Abilities! And our AVAILABILITY to life—acceptance—to shine for others to SEE that God can work miracles and show evidence of his glory! Look at YOU! You are that example, sweet lady!!! God bless you! I’m so proud of you. I admire you! Many blessings and prayers as you strive each day to thrive. I used to question God. I don’t now. For people like you will SEE God in ACTION!! Love, Karla ❤️🙏

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post!! So empowering and yes, what’s wrong with using an MD?!

    Like

  3. Very well written Lily! Being on a Rollator after 30 years with MS I understand your thoughts and concerns! You’ve handled it well and your spirit is contagious! Roll on! May our Lord bless always! Godspeed Lily!

    Love and blessings!

    DG

    Like

  4. You are so right. I often get embarrassed in public when people see me stiffly sitting in my wheelchair or when someone is feeding me in a restaurant. These are things I need to accept and be grateful for what I am still free to do. Thanks for this post.

    Like

  5. what is a wheelchair user i want to thank you for this post

    Like

  6. AS a wheelchair user, i want to thank you for writing this post. Sorry for the typo

    Like

  7. […] would like to thank Lily for sharing this inspirational story with […]

    Like

Leave a comment

LATEST